top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarbleous Food

HIDEOUT FESTIVAL AND FUETERVENTURA FOODIE BEST BITS

So as many of you saw on my Instagram for 2 weeks I ditched the marble background and got a good tan. One week at Hideout Festival in Croatia with my besties and another week in Fuerteventura with my family. I’m now back home and reminiscing back to all the seafood and meats I demolished on these white isles, so thought I’d write a blog post about it to make me feel better. I’m warning you now this post is going to have A LOT of pictures.


HIDEOUT FESTIVAL, PAG ISLAND CROATIA, 24/06-01/07


Hideout festival in Croatia was one of the best weeks of my life, but when I wasn’t out, drinking or swimming in the sea I was sleeping and more importantly eating. Lucky for us we didn’t stay in the main town next to the festival, but instead Metajna, a town 20 minutes away from the festival. We stayed in an amazing harbour with amazing views, and instead of being greeted by a strip of main stream cafes and restaurants there were 4 local restaurants that made amazing food and served the best locally caught fish.


So one of the first meals I had was a creamy green shrimp pasta, a recommendation

from @katienoel. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Whatever it was, was amazing and sooo filling so I definitely want to buy some to try and re-create my own. The view whilst eating this made the meal even better.


Our eating pattern was all over the place on this holiday, getting in at 6am every night and waking up once breakfast time was already over meant we weren’t sticking to our normal eating routine. But when we did fancy a snack during the day this brucheseta was the go to food and

made the perfect afternoon snack, along with a swim in the sea and a pina colada.


Sea food was a huge go to this holiday, the things I would do to be back eating seafood pasta in the harbour, instead of on my lunch break at work eating a tuna salad I threw together this morning. Instead of shrimps in this pasta it was prawns, mussels and some squid mixed between linguine and a cream sauce. Surprisingly before this holiday I had always turned my nose up at squid because I hated the look of it. There isn’t many things I don’t try so this holiday I thought I’d be adventurous and try it and I loved it!


On our last night we adventured into the main town of pag island for dinner. Can’t even remember what it was called it was that rubbish. The layout was pretty nice and there was a lot to choose from on the menu, so I went for battered prawns and chips, I needed something filling after the crazy week we had just had. I tried to go for

something other than fish but I just couldn’t help myself. I’m normally fairly positive about restaurants but this one was awful. Basically don’t go there if you’re on the island or at hideout, food came at all different times, took ages and waitress was rude. BUT the food was nice when it eventually came out.


We left on a Sunday morning, and all an English person wants on a Sunday morning is a fry up. Especially before our 7 hour drive to Venice airport. But it was on none of the menus in this local village. However, after explaining to one of the owners what it was he was happy to create us the next best thing. It wasn’t a million miles away from an English breakfast, tasted nice and we gave them a 10/10 for effort.



Once again I’m saving the best meal of this holiday till last, between myself, @tiaspaige, @katienoel and @joemaddalana we demolished this ginormous fish platter. It took us over an hour to eat it but I enjoyed every minute. We had no idea what we were eating but it tasted amazing. After a few google translates and effort from the 4 of us attempting to speak to the waiter we managed to work out what the fish actually was. Sea bream, sea bass, calamari and mussels.


This was also one of the first times I’ve actually eaten calamari and like I said earlier I loved it! This was by far the best meal I had in Croatia! Deffo worth splashing the cash on.


Although it was at the back of our minds we were still on a student budget so some nights we ate in and quiet often just had breakfast and snacks in our apartment. Making things look instagramable wasn’t my main priority when I was starving but we still ate some nice food! Made poached eggs for all 7 of us on the first morning. Followed by some fresh watermelon. And one night made sausage pasta which we ate while watching the sunset on the balcony.




Can’t forget we were also at a festival so every night/early morning we had the same typical fast festival food- nuggets, burgers and hot dogs. But how could we not??? We

were on holiday!! Was so nice to treat ourselves for a week.



FUETERVENTURA-03/07-11/07


So after hideout I was home for about 36 hours before jetting off again for some more amazing food! My week in Fuerteventura consisted again of a lot of fish and A LOT of cocktails, and as I wasn’t paying, a lot more meals out! My family always like to eat food that is cultural and relevant to the country, so we also had a lot of Spanish food being on the Canary Islands. One of the best local dishes I had was the Canarian potatoes, which were really salty new potatoes served with some amazing dips! Throughout this week I also had A LOT of alioli, and got 2 jars to bring home with me because I’m obsessed with the stuff, when we had our fish platter it didn’t just come with alioli but avocado alioli, I was in heaven.


I think it’s a tradition in my family to get drunk on the first day of every holiday. Which is normally really annoying but this time it was in a cute cocktail and beer garden which meant I could take some cute photos for my story. So obviously I came here more than


once and throughout the week. This is also where I got my amazing fish platter a few days later (picture of this is further down).


You can probably tell from my Instagram that my family LOVES bbq’s and this still applies on holiday. As when my mum and dad saw the BBQ they were ecstatic. I swear

food tastes so much nicer when you’re on holiday?? So we got some fresh prawns, sword fish fillet, sea bass and of course some burgers and sausages.


Going away with my sister means we at least once have to go to a dessert palor but I

wasn’t complaining as I got a kinder crepe the first time and on our second visit a kinder milkshake. I just have a weakness for anything kinder!! Ive tried to find this place on instagram cause they made such pretty stuff but I can’t find it anywhere!



Anyone that knows me knows that I LOVE cheese, I haven’t yet discovered one cheese that I don’t like so when I found a local cheese board tapas I was more than happy.



Being on a Spanish island means we had to have a paella and wine night, this was one of my favourite nights cause I had 2

of my favourite things, paella and rose. Shared with @lukeblackman98, this paella didn’t last very long. Filled with mussels, clams, prawns and squid and a bottle of rose how could it go wrong?


FISH PLATTER. By now you should know that I’m a sucker for a fish platter, especially when it’s by the beach and served with avocado alioli.



So I never eat steak, but when we went to a local Spanish grill and I saw this on the menu, all I was thinking about was the blog and the video I could get of it when

The video of this going up in flames is on my 'meals out' highlight on my instagram @marbelousfood

it came out. And it was definitely worth it just for the blog post. And it tasted nice too! The mixture of sirloin and fillet was perfect.


When I’m on holiday I love eating out but I can’t stop myself from cooking a meal at least once. Was just a bit annoying that I decided I wanted to cook on the Sunday night of our holiday, at 6pm, when all of the supermarkets have shut. But I created this blog so I could be creative and invent my own recipes so that’s exactly was I did. We managed to find a small corner shop where I picked up some pasta, some cream cheese and a tin of tomatoes. Lucky we had a box of prawns left in the fridge so dinner was sorted and I even surprised myself as it tasted insane.



On our last night we were all shattered but knew we had to make the most of the amazing food on our door step so went out for our last, but smallest, dinner of the holiday. And wherever I go I have to mention the blog, and when I did this time they were more than happy to give me a slice of what they served in the restaurant! Literally!! Being in Spain prosciutto is very popular and super nice, but when it was actually carved from the bone for me. It was to die for!! They even gave me a little lesson on how to do it myself.


Soooo many more things I could have said about my hols but hope you enjoyed my foodie best bits!


Marbleous Food

xxxx

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page