top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarbleous Food

WHERE DO I GET MY INSPO FROM??


My most asked question I’ve gotten since creating my blog is where do I get my ideas from and how do I afford it? Most of my uni friends are literally fascinated by what I make as many of them thrive off pasta pesto and chilli every night (can’t judge because this was me in September) here’s a picture of my very first ever meal I made at uni.

I sent it to my mum cause I was absolutely buzzing, all it was some pasta cream cheese tomatoes and spinach. Can’t lie it still tasted good. Featuring my favourite pink plates from Ikea! But since being at uni I’ve become to love cooking and I love even more going to the shops and exploring the isles for food I can throw in my dinner. Being at uni for not even a solid 2 days a week has given me so much time on my hands as well so thought I’d spend it doing what I love, eating, and making something amazing to eat. So my first point of call when I need some inspo is my mum because just like me she loves

keeping up with food trends and trying something new. She’s even made a family group chat where we can all post what we want for dinner. But if she doesn’t answer her texts, Pinterest is my next point of call. The food on there is a instagramers dream, its literally something else and I can spend hours adding things to my board (Davinia Fielding-Cooke) if you want to give my Marbleous Food board a follow. The possibilities are endless. My next call for inspiration is Instagram, one of the main reasons I love having an Instagram account just for food is so I can follow so many other food accounts. So my home page is full of poached eggs and haloumi instead of the cast of Geordie shore promoting shitty loungewear brands that I’m not interested in. The saved section on my profile is full of avocados, veggie bowls, curries and a whole range of things I want to make in the future. Instagram is also such a great way to show everyone how great their food looks and give it all 100’s of likes. On Instagram I have about 50 go to accounts for inspo at the minute. I wish I could write every single one of them down but it would literally fill up all the pages on my blog, so here are my to five current foodie accounts

1.@Whatiateforbreakfast , so this account is very much breakfast goals and I look at it regularly, sometimes not even for inspiration cause I probably couldn’t make half the stuff, but just because theses breakfast are unreal.

2. @avooocuddles, not only do I loveeee the name of this account but the content is equally as cute. Everything on this page looks perfect and is so aesthetically pleasing.

3. @dancersbite, another account full of avocados and pictures I could stare at all day. This account is so colourful and I also love reading her captions and keeping up to date on whats going on in her busy life.

4.@meags_eggs, this account is my idea dream. I’ve never seen so many amazing things that can be done with eggs, will 100% be trying some of their stuff

5.@cleaneatsbytay, found this account thanks to @ollieeastham (give him a follow for loads of things fitness related x) this account has so much variety and once again a lot of avocados. I’m obsessed with the baked oats on this account which you can see if you search for #bakedoatsbytay, they are a dream.

If I could be like any of these accounts my food blogging life would be complete.

Another thing I do on Instagram to get more inspiration and see more people’s posts, is to follow hashtags. I follow a load of hashtags, my main ones being #healthydinner, #avocado (obvs) and #foodblogger. These pages let me see the best of the best on Instagram and the really cool stuff I could never do.


Another simple way I find inspiration is when I’m walking around the supermarkets. Whenever I see something instagramble or something I’ve never seen before I add it to

the list on my notes which is literally 100’s of pages long. The other day in Sainsbury’s I saw a pulled jack fruit wrap?? No idea what it is but I fancy giving it a go. I love Tesco’s and their ‘food love stories’ cause they show a different side to food and things I wouldn’t normally think of. I live for Aldi’s Instagram, honestly the best thing I’ve ever seen and is so cleaver! You have to give it a look. When I go to restaurants I’m so indecisive and normally have about 3 different things I really want, so with the two I don’t choose I always write it down so I can recreate something similar in the future. If not my mum normally gets one of the things, I was considering having so I can just take a picture of hers instead.


Hope you enjoyed reading all the places I get my inspo from. Keep up to date with my future insta posts and look out for my next blog post ‘How do I afford it?’.

Marbleous food

xxx

46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page