top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarbleous Food

NOT JUST A BAGEL SHOP- EAT NEW YORK IN BOURNEMOUTH

Updated: Nov 15, 2018

Bournemouth Uni students, I’m about to change your life. About a month ago dreams came true, I found a bagel shop in Bournemouth, that ticked all the boxes!

· Loads on the menu, including a lot of instagrammable options

· Student discount! Even though its already affordable.

· A cute New York theme to suit all out bagel needs


Hidden in the Burlington arcade the NY Salt Beef and Bagel co. have given Bournemouth the real taste of New York city. For those of you that haven’t seen the many bagel posts on my instagram, I’ve been there about 20 times already. From marinated salt beef bagel, rainbow bagels with sprinkles and ice cream to a good old salmon and cream cheese. All for half the price us bagel lovers would normally pay! But it doesn’t stop there, American milkshakes, New York inspired deserts, hot dogs and… soon loaded fries. I’m slowly but surely making my way through this menu, which was made for me. The American style drinks in the fridge bring the place the life, along with the yellow taxi walls and red leather American diner seats, I could sit in that place all dayyyyy.



Now onto the food!

Anyone who’s been to an authentic bagel shop will know the smell, the warm and the flavour of classic bagel. And this is exactly what hits you when entering the NY salt beef bagel Co. in Burlington arcade. Not to forget the salty beef marinade that fills the air.

Here’s little review of what I’ve eaten from the menu so far…


The Tricolore-STUDENT PRICE £2.50

· Avocado

· Pesto

· Mozzarella

· Tomato

So my first trip to NY salt beef I went for a good old Instagram veggie option. You may have seen on my intagram that it was absolutely loaded!! The combo was perfect and wouldn’t of had it anyway, toasted on a plain bagel wrapped up in a little brown bag, which we all love.


Ny Salt Beef-STUDENT PRICE £3

· Salt beef

· Pickles

· Sauerkraut

· American Mustard

· Melted Monterey jack cheese

· Red Cabbage

Never in a million years would I choose this bagel. But the owner Ali seemed adamant it was the best one on the menu, and I couldn’t agree more. The salted beef had been marinated for a week, and literally melted in my mouth. I could barely get my mouth around the New York creation which was in my hands. The red cabbage and Sauerkraut brought all the flavours together.


Pizza Bagel-STUDENT PRICE £2.50

And the list goes on a pizza with a bagel base!! It just keeps getting better. I’m eating it as I write this so a full description is what it tastes like. So the first thing is the cheese pull, would probably recommend a knife and fork with this ones as they cheesy-ness was amazing but it does go everywhere! Underneath was fresh tomato sauce and peperoni that gave it that strong spicy flavour.


The New Yorker-STUDENT PRICE £2.25

· Salmon

· Cream Cheese

· Red Onion

· Cucumber

· Cracked black pepper

Went a little bit gourmet with this one, and its deffo one of my favourites off the menu. The red onion literally made this, along with the dill sauce that gets served with it. And let’s just say they aren’t shy when putting the smoked salmon in, layers of pepper crusted salmon filled my poppy seed bagel this time.


But it isn’t just the food that’s good about the place, like I said I could sit here all day! It’s the cute details that I love in this place, the ketchup and mayo is in American petrol canisters to fit the wall paper of yellow taxis filling up 5th avenue. Pots of mini rainbow bagels surround the eating area so it’s hard not to be tempted by one for dessert. Fresh bagels hang on the wall creating a piece of art behind the counter. As well as New York Jazz music playing in the background, it is officially that taste of New York in Bournemouth!


Check out my Instagram to see more of my bagel pics in NY Salt Beef and Bagel Co. and check it out down Burlington arcade (don’t forget your student ID for some crazy cheap munch).


Marbleous Food

xxxx

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page